fbpx Student Government | Harvard Kennedy School

It's not just about the degree.

Studying at Harvard Kennedy School is also about making lifelong friendships, cultivating community outside the classroom, and building on the skills you already have to take with you beyond HKS.

That's where the Kennedy School Student Government (KSSG) comes in.

Elected by you and your classmates, KSSG organizes events throughout the academic year, including the spirited formals, family-friendly gatherings, and the HKS Talent Show. More importantly, they represent the entire HKS student body, conveying your ideas and concerns to the administration and faculty members.

KSSG members share one goal: to ensure that your HKS experience is rewarding and memorable.

Every Aspect of HKS Life

KSSG members are led by an executive committee comprised of a student president, an executive vice president, and 11 vice presidents who focus on:

  • Academic Affairs
  • Climate Action
  • Communications, Technology, and Operations
  • Diversity, Equity, and Anti-Racism
  • Families
  • Finance
  • Gender Equity, Empowerment, and Leadership
  • Internal Affairs
  • International Student Affairs
  • Professional Development
  • Student Activities

Each degree program class also elects representatives to serve as KSSG members. The main elections are held each fall, with executive committee members serving one-year terms.


2022-2023 KSSG Executive Committee

President: Sam Yoon
Executive Vice President: Cara Oneal-Radigan
VP Academic Affairs: Enitan Okediji
VP Climate Action: Alisha Shaparia
VP Communications, Technology, and Operations: Quint Forgey
VP of Diversity, Equity, and Anti-Racism: Oluwatoyin Alabi-Orukpe
VP Families: James Oliver
VP Finance: Alex Cooper
VP Gender Equity, Empowerment, and Leadership: Nida Hasan
VP Internal Affairs: Lucy McSweeney
VP International Student Affairs: Jukta Basumallik
VP Professional Development: Faith Ambrose
VP Student Activities: Liliana Tai

Harvard Graduate Council: Eliazar Chacha

Contact the Office of Student Services team if you are looking for a full list of the current Kennedy School Student Government representatives.

"I want HKS students to say that they are proud of who they are as Kennedy School graduates."

Originally from Torrance, California, Arohi Sharma served as the President of the Kennedy School Student Government (KSSG) for the 2016-2017 academic year. In an interview with The Citizen, Sharma explained why she ran for KSSG president, the challenges of the job, and shared some advice to students to make the most of their time at HKS.

Arohi Sharma MPP 2017